Information about the Recovery Curriculum is now on our website - Go to Class Pages - Recovery Curriculum
Translate / Traduire / Übersetzen / Tłumaczyć / Išversti / Tulkot / Traducir
Home Page

RE - Islam

What does it mean to be a Muslim in Britain today?


The Five Pillars


The Five Pillars of Islam are the five obligations that every Muslim must satisfy in order to live a good and responsible life according to Islam.


The Five Pillars consist of:

Shahadah: sincerely reciting the Muslim profession of faith

Salat: performing ritual prayers in the proper way five times each day

Zakat: paying an alms (or charity) tax to benefit the poor and the needy

Sawm: fasting during the month of Ramadan

Hajj: pilgrimage to Mecca


Watch this clip all about the Five Pillars:


How well will you do on this Ramadan quiz?


Feeling hungry? Why not try this recipe for onion pakoras? These might be eaten as an eid treat:


Watch this animation about a trip to Mecca:


Learn more about the Shahadah here:  and then create your own belief or message to shout and whisper. 


Think about how is generous to you. How generous are you? Could you be more generous?